An Ariane Bourdain Sighting, at Last

By Karen

Nineteen-month-old Ariane accompanied her dad, Anthony Bourdain, on his recent visit to Miami. Unfortunately, the photographer only caught the back of her head, but it’s better than nothing.

Daddy's Little Girl (Photo - Lynne Sladky, AP)

Daddy's Little Girl (Photo - Lynne Sladky, AP)

During the interview, Bourdain said he’s not interested in writing a children’s cookbook nor hosting a children’s TV show.

Well, DUH! What a silly question. Anyone who’s seen even one episode of No Reservations with its parental warning and glaring absence of children would know Bourdain’s not inclined to “Go Kiddie” in this lifetime.

A few other tidbits…

Tony has written the introduction to Pino Luongo’s memoir, Dirty Dishes, to be published in January. Tony first wrote about Luongo as his ruthless boss in Kitchen Confidential, and has admiringly dubbed him “the Dark Prince of Italian fine dining.”

It’s got me wondering if Ottavia agrees that Luongo knows good Italian, or if she thinks his cooking is also “disgusting?”

At Brave New Traveler, Rebecca Lang wrote an interesting article, Deconstructing the Cynicism of Anthony Bourdain, that went so far as to compare him to Samantha Brown.

On a personal note, I’m one step closer to fulfilling my dream of seeing Bourdain in person. A friend in North Carolina has offered to put me up for the night when he appears in Durham, North Carolina, in February 2009.

5 Responses to An Ariane Bourdain Sighting, at Last

  1. Bob says:

    Good Score Karen… Nice to see the tot, very curly hair!!!

    your right he has no place writing a kiddy cook book. Hell give me his Drink book.
    I own the Les Halles Cook book and have tried a few dishes to varying degrees of success. ALL FUN MOST NUMMY.

    Always checking this blog
    Bob

  2. Adele says:

    Wonder where Ariane got the pretty auburn hair, although Tony’s mother seems to have reddish hair. Once again, excellent sleuthing on your part.

    I’m glad you have a place to bunk in Durham. Alice and I will keep fingers and paws crossed that the middle Atlantic states have good weather for your trip.

  3. catsworking says:

    I think Bourdain looks so cute with her little arm around his neck.

    Ariane’s hair does seem to have lightened up quite a bit since she was born. Mine did the same thing. I came out with a full head of jet-black hair, then it turned brown.

    His hair seems kind of curly, so maybe that’s where she gets it from.

    I could be mistaken, but she looks like she’s sucking her thumb. I hope they get her off that because my sister pushed in all her bottom teeth that way.

  4. Lore stanley says:

    Thanks for share the useful information.

  5. MorganLF says:

    Oh how cute!! She looks like pics of me from the back (um 50+ years ago) I too have wavy red hair. I hope hers stays that way. NO one in my Italian/Irish ancestry has red hair yet I still have it to this day (natural). And she’s so girly too in a little dress..aw gee look at this face he’s a goner. I like this phase of Tony.

    Cat you’re going to see him!! You will love it! I’d be curious to see if your impressions match mine. I’m still glad I went. I got a good deal too, a friend comped me a nice room a Ceasars and the drive was about 3 hours we made a weekend out of it as I took the next day off. It was sooo worth it even though the one good pic of me and Carlos makes myface look like a fat ham!

Leave a Reply

