Anthony Bourdain & Ottavia: A Portrait

By Karen

Someone got this great photo of Anthony Bourdain with Ottavia at his David Letterman taping on March 24.

I wondered why Tony seemed so subdued during that interview. I guessed either he was really sick of being asked about the cobra heart and the warthog again, or that Ottavia was in the wings, watching his every move.

He was also unusually circumspect as a judge a few weeks ago on the new season of Top Chef. Almost a nonentity.

With the extended book tour with nonstop personal appearances and interviews, the latest season of No Reservations, and his new family, it wouldn’t surprise me if Tony’s feeling yanked in a lot of directions and exhausted. I’m beginning to think that for his own sanity and career longevity, he needs to go on a long vacation to an undisclosed location so he can “refill the well,” as we writers call it when we get in a rut and run out of ideas.

Anyone who follows him must be noticing that he’s begun to repeat himself a lot. That’s partially due to lazy interviewers asking him the same easy questions over and over, but it also may be because the man’s been picked clean of fresh ideas.

As much as I’ll miss him, I’m willing to see him go away for a while to have some time to relax, unwind, and let his crazy thought processes have free rein to generate some new material. Maybe even write another novel, just for fun.

The last thing I want to see is Anthony Bourdain become a victim of his own success and start screwing things up.

Take a break, Tony! You deserve it!

7 Responses to Anthony Bourdain & Ottavia: A Portrait

  1. catsworking says:

    Thanks for that link! What a treasure-trove for Tony and Ottavia watchers!

  2. Linda Gene Goldstein says:

    gettyimcages.com has some great photos too … and they are larger!

  3. stilllifeinbuenosaires says:

    Thanks for the link. I have to admit that I was curious.

    Damn–I can’t believe this wife is younger than me!

  4. coolienne says:

    Thnks for the link!

  5. tabasco says:

    shes 29? umm she looks alot older.

  6. catsworking says:

    Tabasco, Ottavia must be at least 30 now. I’ve never been able to find her birthday.

    I don’t know that she looks a lot older than her years, but she’s Italian and she could age overnight. I’ve seen it happen too many times on my Italian side of the family. 😉

Leave a Reply

