UnFoodie Stuffs Portobello Mushrooms

By Karen

I’ve reached my goal with Weight Watchers®, but I’m still experimenting with low-points meals so I can maintain my new svelte look. Mushrooms have zero PointsPlus®.

So I bought a couple of big portabellas and improvised using what I had on hand, after checking out some recipes online. These turned out good enough to share, but I’ll change some things next time.

Marinade (optional step)

  • 1/4 cup balsamic vinegar
  • tablespoon of olive oil

First, I marinated the mushrooms for an hour before cooking, but you don’t have to. If you use balsamic vinegar, line your cooking pan with foil, or the bitchin’ mess of burned vinegar you’ll be scraping later will destroy your manicure.

You cook all the components separately, then assemble near the end. This prep is all easy and doesn’t take more than 15 minutes.

Preheat the oven to 375°, then put in the mushrooms to pre-cook, gills side down, for about 10 minutes, or until you start smelling them. While that’s going on, you make the filling. Here is one of the mushrooms ready for the oven…

Mushrooms1

Recipes said to chop up the stems for the filling and throw away the gills, but I left the gills in because it seemed wasteful and I don’t mind eating them.

Dice and sauté in cooking spray any veggies for your filling, whatever you’d like. I used:

  • The mushroom stems
  • Onion
  • Tomato
  • Spinach
  • Pinch of garlic powder (because I didn’t have fresh garlic)

Mushrooms2

(I don’t know why my pics are still coming out blurry. They always look fine on the camera screen. Grrrr….)

I felt like I needed some herb to spice it up, but wasn’t sure what to use, so my filling was kind of bland.

Once the veggies are soft, remove from the heat and add bread crumbs and cheese. I used:

  • 1/4 cup panko crumbs
  • 1/4 cup 2% shredded sharp cheddar

Take the mushrooms out of the oven, turn them gills-side up, and fill.

Mushrooms3

Put back in the oven about 15-20 minutes, or until the cheese melts.

Voila!

Voila!

That’s the other change I’d make. I’d use full-fat cheese for a richer result. My cheese didn’t melt very well, and the crumbs didn’t brown. So I’d finish the shrooms under the broiler instead of baking longer.

But overall, was a tasty dish, and each mushroom was only 3 PointsPlus. I’ll definitely make it again.

If anybody’s got suggestions for seasonings or other improvements, I’m all ears.

8 Responses to UnFoodie Stuffs Portobello Mushrooms

  1. Zappa's Mom says:

    That looks mouthwatering I agree with you on the full fat cheese as well. I was just thinking that I would treat myself to some shrimp this weekend,I think it would go nicely in this recipe. I’ll get back to you-I wish I knew how to include a picture.

  2. catsworking says:

    ZM, the mushrooms were actually very tasty. I agree that shrimp and regular cheese would take it to the next level. Let me know how it turns out.

  3. Zappa's Mom says:

    In the meantime,I made my mother Nigella Lawson’s Chocolate Olive Oil Cake.The recipe is meant to be dairy/gluten free,but as I didn’t have enough almond flour I just used regular flour.It’s a delicious recipe,and easy to make. It is the sort of thing that I like to whip up for my elegant ladies’ luncheons *cough*

  4. catsworking says:

    Almond flour? There is such a thing? And it’s made of ground almonds? How many bushels does it take to make a pound?

    Yes, you’d think olive oil and chocolate wouldn’t mix, but they mix cayenne into chocolate and it’s supposed to be tasty, so why not?

    Share the recipe with us here. I have a friend who’s put her husband on a gluten-free diet and she’s looking for stuff to make.

  5. Zappa's Mom says:

    It’s Nigella’s recipe and I got it from this month’s Health Magazine.There is a page error online,so here goes

    2/3 c OO
    6 tbl good quality unsweetened cocoa powder
    1/2 c boiling water
    2 tsp vanilla
    1 1/2 c almond meal OR 3/4 all purpose flour
    1/2 tsp baking soda
    pinch of salt
    1 c super-fine sugar (I just used regular sugar,giving it a few pulses in the food processor
    3 large eggs

    preheat oven to 325 prepare springform pan with oil and line with parchment.I skipped this part and just used oil and floor

    sift cocoa powder and whisk in boiling water and vanilla and set aside to cool.The mix should be smooth but a bit runny

    In a small bowl,combine the flour,baking soda and salt

    Combine sugar,OO,and eggs in a bowl of free standing mixer.Use the paddle attachment,beat vigorously approx. 3 minutes. I used my hand mixer Turn down the speed and add the cocoa mixture.Once that is mixed,add the dry ingredients a little at a time.
    Pour into pan and bake 40-45 min,though I tested at 40 min and ended up baking it for a full 50 minutes.

    I found the almond meal at Trader Joe’s. While I didn’t use it in this recipe,I used it in other things that have received a gluten-free friend’s thumbs up. It came in a 1 lb. bag and it wasn’t pricey
    This was easy to make and everyone loved it. Serve with fresh whipped cream,berries,or warm with just a sprinkle of confectioner’s sugar

  6. catsworking says:

    ZM, thanks very much for the recipe. I don’t bake much, but I’d be willing to try this if I had all the stuff.

  7. adele says:

    ZM, that sounds like a good recipe. I’ll have to try it.

    Karen,I read your Portobello adventure during the time I didn’t feel like writing, but I wanted to tell you that with the combo you used, you might add some well drained turkey Italian sausage and the thyme is always a good herb to use — assertive but not overpowering. I prefer fresh herbs, and if you have a Trader Joe’s near you, you can get small amounts for reasonable cost — the problem with fresh herbs, unless you grow them, is that they almost always go bad before they’re used.

    I was also thinking that there’s this recipe called Crab Meat Imperial — I’ve seen it in many iterations, and it’s usually quite rich. However, you could use low-fat mayo as a binder, and it would make a great stuffing for mushrooms. And just plain grilled Portobellos make a great hamburger substitute.Ah, the noble mushroom.

    Isn’t panko a gift from the gods,though?

  8. catsworking says:

    Thyme. I have some dried. I’ll try that. And I just had turkey sausage for dinner last night. With stuffing the mushrooms, I was going for a vegetarian dish. I’ve also made “burgers” out of them.

    Since my WW experience, I’m not a huge meat-eater anymore.

    I hear you on the fresh herbs. I can buy packets of them, but could never hope to use more than a sprig or two before they rot. They’re relatively expensive, so it’s a deal-breaker for me. I wouldn’t mind growing them if the cats would leave them alone.

    I find myself reaching for the panko crumbs for everything now, although I just bought some cornmeal for the first time in my life (after living in the South for 40+ years — go figure) for a zucchini recipe I’ve tried that came out pretty good. Next time I make it, I’ll try to take some (nonblurry) pics.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 176 other followers

