UnFoodie Discovers the Joy of Quorn™

By Karen

Before Christmas, the weather was crumby and I craved a big pot of chili, but I didn’t want to blow Weight Watchers® completely, and ground beef was a deal-breaker because WW severely punishes any red meat consumption.

I could have used 99% fat-free ground turkey to shave off one lousy WW point, or gone meatless. But I was craving MEAT, so I poked around Food Lion and found Quorn Grounds in the freezer section with the Boca Burgers and such.

Quorn Grounds are the brilliant brainchild of Quorn Foods, headquartered in Stokesley, North Yorkshire, England. They’re made of mycoprotein (the package says “myco” is Greek for “fungi”). They’re meatless, soy-free, and the closest non-meat thing to ground beef I’ve ever seen or tasted.

A 2/3-cup (3 oz.) serving has 2g fat, 9g carbs, 5g fiber, and 13g protein — all for 2 WW points.

Three ounces of of 90% lean ground beef will set you back 4 points, without the fiber.

So here’s my chili recipe. This makes 10 cups, but I like lots of leftovers:

1 28 oz. can diced tomatoes
2 15 oz. cans tomato sauce
2 15 oz. cans kidney beans
1 packet Chili Seasoning (any kind you like)
1 12 oz. package Quorn grounds
1 large onion, diced
Squirt of Sriracha for more heat to taste (optional)

Brown the onions, then throw in everything else (including Quorn – no need to thaw). Simmer on the stove at low heat for as many hours as you like to concentrate the tomato flavor.

Chili1

A hefty 2-cup serving is only 5 WW points. That leaves room to melt ¼ cup of 2% shredded cheddar on top (2 points) and glop on a tablespoon of light sour cream (0 points) for a very filling meal.

(PS: In case you’re curious, my diet came through the holidays unscathed, in spite of chocolate cheesecake, 3 slices of tiramisu, and much liquor. In fact, I continued to lose weight through it all and am now down a total of 41 lbs.)

10 Responses to UnFoodie Discovers the Joy of Quorn™

  1. imabear says:

    I am not generally a fan of fake meat products, but I tried Quorn last year and found it was one I could actually eat and enjoy. They have quite a few varieties. Thanks for the recipe – I’ve been craving chili, too!

  2. catsworking says:

    imabear, it was great in the chili. It really gave it meaty texture, and you can’t beat the fiber content. I’ve used it in one other recipe I’ll share. I’m going to try some of the other Quorn products, too.

    I’m OK with Boca Burgers as far as fake meat, and Morningstar makes a black bean burger I like. But I bought some others at Costco that have, I think, California, in the name that I don’t care for.

  3. jimmie chew says:

    we’ll have to check it out, thanx!
    happy new year!

  4. Zappa's Mom says:

    Congratulations on your success!! Thanks for the Quorn tip.I’ve pondered it in the past,but Ive never tried it.I’m excited to try your recipe-Will check to WholeFoods tomorrow.
    For what it’s worth,”Gimme Lean” sausage is something I buy once in a while(get it,”Jimmy Dean”?) It comes in a roll to either slice or crumble.It’s about 3-4$$.It’s not too bad

  5. catsworking says:

    ZM, I’ve been looking for a good sausage. I usually buy Morningstar, but I’m meh about it. I’ll try Gimme Lean if I see it. Over Christmas I made big Jennie-O Turkey Sausage links (to go with pasta), and they were 4 points each, which isn’t terrible for meat, but I like to keep it lower so I can have other stuff with them.

  6. adele says:

    Haven’t found Quorn yet, at regular supermarkets, Guess I’ll try Whole Foods.

    I made your frittata for a brunch, and it was a hit, so you’ve now become my healthy food authority.

    Congrats on the continuing weight loss.

    ZM, where does one find Gimme Lean. It it tastes half decent, it would be a boon, since my terrible digestive system does badly with meat sausage of any kind.

    Happy New Year everyone. Alice and Dorothy wish the feline staff a more peaceful and loving 2013.

  7. Zappa's Mom says:

    Adele,I buy Gimme Lean at WF and Trader Joe’s.I’ve also found it at a conventional grocer but I don’t remember which one….Safeway? Giant?

  8. catsworking says:

    Adele, I’m so glad to hear people liked the frittata. When I whip this stuff up, I always wonder if it’s as good as I think it is.

    I’ve got to make a Food Lion run in the next day or two and I’ll look for Gimme Lean and report back.

  9. Zappa's Mom says:

    I bought Quorn and will be attempting Shepherd’s Pie.I,too,will report back.

  10. catsworking says:

    Well, Food Lion does cary Gimme Lean. It’s in the produce section next to the Pasta Zero. I didn’t realize it wasn’t link sausage so I didn’t buy it this time (Got Jennie-O Turkey Sausage links instead), but I will definitely try it.

    I am very eager to hear how the Quorn does in Shepard’s Pie. I just bought some Quorn chicken cutlets.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 176 other followers

