UnFoodie Masters a Mean Frittata

By Karen

Breakfast is problematic for me because 1) I’m a Weight Watcher and don’t want to start the day blowing a lot of points, 2) I don’t want to put a lot of work into it, and 3) I get bored easily.

One recent Sunday morning, I was sick to death of eating one pale scrambled egg with 2 whites (3 points), when I got the brilliant idea to make a frittata. A big frittata I could eat all week.

I threw a mess of chopped veggies into a Pam-coated 9-inch cast-iron skillet. You can use whatever vegetables you like. This time, it was baby bello mushrooms, a zucchini, red onion, and red bell pepper.

Frittata1

While the veggies cooked, I preheated the oven to 350° and beat 6 whole eggs.

(Usually, I add ½ cup of 2% shredded cheddar to the eggs, but I was so busy taking pictures, I forgot the cheese. I did sprinkle it on top before reheating the leftovers later and it was almost just as good.)

I used the cast-iron skillet because once the veggies were cooked, I poured the egg on them and placed the whole thing in the oven, but you can use any kind of baking dish. I do anything I can to minimize dish-washing.

It bakes for about 20 minutes. You’ll know it’s done when it’s all puffy. Let it go flat again before you cut in to it.

Frittata2

I divided it into quarters, which makes for good-sized servings. If you include the cheese, each quarter is only 4 WW points.

I stack the extra pieces between waxed paper and store them in the fridge. They reheat great on a piece of foil in the toaster oven at 350° for 20 minutes. But you could microwave them. I prefer the way the oven browns the cheese.

So that only leaves 3 days of the week to improvise. If you’re looking for ideas, here are my usual options. If you have more, please share them!

  • fruit alone – blueberries, strawberries, banana, apple, orange – 0 points
  • ½ cup Kashi® Go Lean® cereal with ½ container of plain Dannon Oikos® Greek yogurt (blech! — but flavor adds a point) topped with fruit – 3 points
  • ¼-cup (dry) steel-cut oatmeal with ½ tsp. Smart Balance® butter spread – 4 points
  • 2 whole-grain Eggo waffles with fresh fruit on top (no syrup) – 5 points
  • 2 tbsp. Better’n Peanut Butter on a thin sandwich roll – 5 points
  • 16 Wheat Thins with 2 tbsp. Sabra hummus – 5 points
  • 1 oz. smoked salmon on a thin bagel with 1 oz. light cream cheese, onions, and capers – 6 points
4 Responses to UnFoodie Masters a Mean Frittata

  1. Zappa's Mom says:

    That looks gorgeous! I will attempt that myself

  2. adele says:

    That does look great — I’m trying it too. Karen, Weight Watchers is turning you into quite the healthy cook.

  3. catsworking says:

    Weight Watchers has definitely got me scheming and conniving ways to make something worth eating for the least points. Otherwise, it’s all bunny food.

    This frittata is extremely easy. The most labor-intensive part is chopping the veggies, then you just throw everything together and let it cook. I made another one this past weekend (remembering the cheese this time, which makes it richer — I prefer 2% sharp cheddar, but you can use any kind you like) and have been eating it all week. Sometimes I top it with a tablespoon of light sour cream (0 points) and it feels downright decadent.

    Because prepared foods tend to be high points (including Weight Watchers’ own frozen brand, Smart Ones), I’ve been spending a LOT more time trying to devise workarounds.

    Next up… chili.

    And I’m working on my Christmas Eve menu, when I have the family over for dinner.

  4. leannenalani says:

    We prep our dinners on Sunday to eat throughout the week. Your frittata looks so good! Nice way to start the morning with a healthy amount of veggies and protein. I wish I could have a hot breakfast but there isn’t time in the classroom without a microwave. I do make ahead protein-packed granola bars which are pretty good and keep you full, too. :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 176 other followers

