Dropped a Pail of Tidy Cats on Weight Watchers

By Karen

Part 7 — Lose Inches, Regain Yourself

I buy 35-lb. pails of Tidy Cats® litter for the Cats Working crew, and it takes every bit of strength to get them from store shelf > shopping cart > car trunk > litterboxes.

After 27 weeks on Weight Watchers®, I have dropped 36 lbs.

And I’m wondering how on earth I, or anybody else, manages to tote around an extra load like that — or more — every day without dropping dead?

From 177 lbs., I’m down to 141 and, according to Weight Watchers, am no longer overweight.

(A recent Gallup survey found 62.8% adult Americans overweight or obese. It’s good to be in the minority.)

I can’t wait to see my doctor’s face (or even better, his skinny nurse who weighs me. She won’t be flinging that 150-lb. weight across the scale with mad abandon anymore.)

The sofa covers and circus tents comprising my wardrobe have begun migrating from my closet. In clothing stores, I beat a wide path around the “Women’s Dept.” (i.e., fat clothes) with the same aversion rabid ex-smokers have perfected toward anybody who lights up.

(Catherine’s Plus Sizes, delete me from your mailing list. You’ll never see me again!)

Before I get too carried away, 141 is still more than I ever weighed before I even began all previous diets, so I’ve still got a ways to go.

When I hit 100 lbs. at age 20, I felt fat even though I wore size 5. I’ll never be that thin again, but it just goes to show how all the sick messages we’re hammered with will distort our body image.

Now that I’ve seen myself truly fat, I’ve gained perspective, and don’t aspire to become a stringy old stick figure.

I’ve lost nearly 9 inches each from my bust and waist, and 6 inches from my hips. For the first time in my 50s, I look in the mirror with hope and pleasure (instead of dread and loathing) because my former non-fat self is peeking back.

The past 6 months counting points have been no picnic, but it worked. Wearing something attractive trumps the fleeting satisfaction of cramming decadent and fattening food into my face.

I have added one square of Lindt chocolate a day to the menu and I don’t count the points. I actually think it’s helping. In just the week since Thanksgiving (when I ate out twice and really went off the rails, although not at all with “bad” stuff), I’ve lost 2.8 lbs.

You just have to tackle it one day at a time and never give up.

11 Responses to Dropped a Pail of Tidy Cats on Weight Watchers

  1. imabear says:

    Woohoo! Way to go Karen!

  2. Suzette says:

    So happy for you, Karen! You’re inspiring me as well.

  3. Zappa's Mom says:

    I actually have tears in my eyes! Congratulations!

  4. catsworking says:

    Welcome, Suzette! A few months ago after I’d lost only about 18 lbs., the woman who cuts my hair said the same thing and that she was going to look into Weight Watchers. I’m going back for the first time tomorrow and I’m eager to see if she followed through.

    My sister inspired me. She’s lost about 85 lbs. and looks almost like a different person.

    Between us, we’ve lost the weight of a THIRD sister! I keep telling my sister we should make WW aware. I think they’d be interested in the marketing angle of sibs in 50s who’ve lost that much in total through online membership ONLY.

  5. catsworking says:

    ZM, YOU are an inspiration. When I met you and saw how fabulous you looked, it put me a few steps closer to committing to get a grip on myself.

  6. adele says:

    Congrats, Karen! You ARE an inspiration, and we want pictures.

    BTW, what willpower — only ONE square of Lindt a day. I just can’t have it in the house.

  7. catsworking says:

    Thanks, Adele. I haven’t had any pictures taken yet, but people are telling me I look thinner in the face. I think I’m looking older (wrinkled) and have started glopping on moisturizer at night.

    Once you start seeing results and your everyday clothes start looking like clown suits, it’s much easier to say no to the bad stuff. I’ve been doing this for 6 months now and I’ve actually stopped missing French fries.

  8. leannenalani says:

    Wow, you’ve done so well on WW! Congratulations on officially being at a healthy weight!

    Did you do the Flex system before they switched to PointsPlus, and do you like one better than the other? I used to do Weight Watchers and was really successful going to meetings with my mom.

    I think it’s fair to not count the Lindt chocolate into your points. It’s not that high in points and is well worth it. I remember when my WW leader told us to not count our EVOO points, which was helpful because otherwise I was not using any oil at all because I didn’t want to spend the points.

  9. catsworking says:

    Leannenalani, thank you. This is my 3rd time on WW, but first time on Points Plus. I can’t remember what the previous plans were called, but EVERYTHING had points. I do prefer not having to track fruits and veggies. And I do enjoy NOT going to meetings. I found them totally uninspiring and having someone else weigh me was stressful, but I’m not a joiner type.

    In either system, oil points will kill ya. One lousy tablespoon of EVOO is 4 points (out of 26 total for the whole DAY, for you non-WW readers) — yet they tell you to consume the healthy oils and even have you track oil separately. I’m like you, I’d rather go without than blow so many points on it. I use a teaspoon of canola oil (1 point) to make popcorn. I cook in Pam. I rarely use olive oil anymore because of the points.

    In the past week, WW has come out with yet ANOTHER plan they’re calling 360. Have you seen it? I’m working on a post about it. WW president is calling it their biggest advance in their 50-year history.

  10. leannenalani says:

    Another plan? Geez, I think they keep doing that to keep things “fresh” and get new customers. I swear, the last time they changed to Points Plus they said it was a big advance in research, just like with this change. I’ll be curious to read what you write about it. :)

  11. catsworking says:

    leannenalani, there’s no change to the Points Plus system this time, although I think the WW president’s claim that this representing the “biggest advance” in the company’s 50-year history is hyperbole of the highest order. I’m still working on that post. Cole has got me tied up editing his posts on Newtown at the moment. He’s a kitty possessed!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 180 other followers

