Bourdainia Galore!

By Karen

I’m playing catch-up with DVDs of Treme, the HBO New Orleans series Anthony Bourdain has been writing for. After the first 2 episodes of Season 1, I’m still waiting to feel hooked, but I’m optimistic. Luckily, the Internet teems with video clips of the restaurant scenes Tony is doing for Season 2, which is airing now.

For example, here’s the scene of food critic Alan Richman taking a drink in the puss. Richman wrote about that later in GQ and actually seemed to be a good sport about it.

Tony also gave Tom Colicchio and Eric Ripert cameos with lines, and then Tom talked to Esquire about the experience.

A video of Tony speaking to HuffPost Food has been surfacing in pieces. He discussed which foods he’d like to see more of in the U.S. and modified his stance on bacon. He also talked about things he’ll never do — which we’ve already seen him do — and manages to lump Jay Leno in with strolling through steaming bat guano and being mounted by an Uzbek masseur.

In this video clip from PopEater, Tony talks about celebrities.

Last week, Bourdain was in Australia for the Sydney Writers’ Festival and did a video interview with MUmBRELLA where, among other things, he shared his thoughts on the value of Facebook and Twitter. 

At the Sydney festival, he appeared in a sold-out session on May 19 with AA Gill. Links to the full audio are under May 21 at 3 p.m., but they seem screwed up. Click “Download” to just listen.

If you don’t want to do that, Book Thingo provides a written recap and a snippet of illicit video taken from the audience.

Here’s a recap on another appearance Tony made at the festival called “Medium Raw,” which also sold out.

While rooting around for the festival stuff, I found a phone interview Tony did with ABC Sydney back in July 2010 that I don’t recall ever hearing.

On the literary front…

Bourdain will be a contributor to a new quarterly food journal, Lucky Peach, edited by David Chang and others, which debuts June 14. Each issue will have a theme, and the first one is ramen. According to the site, it’s the sister project to “an iPad app produced by Zero Point Zero that will feature more than two hours of videos, plus recipes, art, and essays.” Right now, the site is features a conversation on mediocrity among Bourdain, Chang, and Wylie Dufresne.

Tucson Weekly is critical of Bourdain’s involvement with Treme (2nd paragraph from the end). The writer seems to have an outdated image of Tony’s persona, but from the clips I’ve seen on Eater, I find myself relating somewhat to his unfoodie perspective. But that’s fodder for a future post.

I found this fascinating site on tumblr called Fuck Yes, Tony Bourdain! It’s devoted to photos, video clips, and quotes.

Finally, Travel Channel posted a video clip of Tony discussing his job with his adult niece, Isabelle.

5 Responses to Bourdainia Galore!

  1. adele says:

    Cole should be proud; I see that his Lupetto Bourdain post is holding its spot among top posts, ahead of Tatiana the Tiger.

    The kitchen scenes on this year’s Treme don’t take up much of the show — the Alan Richman story took up a little more space, but I don’t find that Bourdain’s voice is intrusive or that the show is pandering to his participation. I read Richman’s review of New Orleans restaurants, and for me, it was an issue of timing, more than anything he said. He doesn’t particularly care for the food of New Orleans,(a perfectly legitimate view) but to decide to do a whole piece on it, when the city was still reeling from Katrina, seemed unnecessary. Richman’s piece in GQ after filming his role in Treme was pretty funny and self deprecating, I thought.

  2. Imabear says:

    Thanks – loved the Huff Post clips! Interesting comment he made about being able to have some respect for folks he hates. We don’t often think about that – but it’s a good point.

  3. catsworking says:

    Adele, since Treme is supposed to be about New Orleans, I don’t see how one character living in NYC could make up a large part of the plot. In fact, it seems like an unnecessary distraction. I’m now 4 episodes into Season 1 and I’m still waiting to feel the love.

    Imabear, to go along with that point about respecting enemies, I can’t remember if it’s in the stuff I posted or I read somewhere else in my digging that Tony said something about like Kwanzaa cake actually tasting pretty good!

    I’m liking the soapbox he’s been climbing on lately about foodies being too high-brow and obsessive (even as he panders to it somewhat). Personally, I think the whole foodie movement has gone well beyond ridiculous. But Bourdain has always also been the champion of simple food, even certain junk food, eaten casually, which keeps one foot firmly planted in reality. When he says, “Enough’s enough,” it makes my heart glad.

  4. adele says:

    Even though I enjoyed the New Orleans atmosphere of Treme from the beginning, I think it was the fourth or fifth episode before I was shocked when the end of the show came. Before that, I was acutely aware of the passage of time. Janette (the NOLA chef) meets up with another New Orleans ex-pat,in Season 2, and her segments aren’t very long, so it’s not that much of a distraction. I do wonder whether Janette will get back to New Orleans this season, and if she does, whether Bourdain will keep writing for her.

  5. catsworking says:

    OK, I watched the 5th episode, Season 1, of Treme last night and I’m MOST interested in finding out what John Goodman’s literary agent has to say. He’s worried his publisher wants his advance back, but I feel certain it’s YouTube-related and it’s going to be spectacularly good news. The show could use some good news at this point. This was also the episode where Colicchio, Ripert, Change, and Dufresne dropped in to Janette’s restaurant. I haven’t caught the name of it, but I want to call it Prune for some reason! I must say, Ripert was particularly fetching (albeit poorly lit), channeling Charles Boyer as he delivered his few flirty little lines in French.

    I should think Janette would go back to New Orleans sooner rather than later because why continue her plotline as a fish out of water? It’s the same dilemma they created for Betty Draper on Mad Men when she divorced Don. Without ties to the other main characters, she’s a spin-off. And now that Bourdain’s in and his scenes are well-received, I should think as long as they’re dealing with food, he’ll be involved.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 180 other followers

