Bourdain is EVERYWHERE in June

By Karen

Well, everywhere but home much. Entertainment Weekly interviewed Anthony Bourdain about his new book Medium Raw. Lately, he seems to be embracing the image of himself “swimming in the pond” of the restaurant industry, but his interviews so often cover the same ground (not Tony’s fault), the readers’ comments are sometimes more interesting.

Grub Street got Tony to tell them everything he ate from June 5-10. It includes some typical usual high-end restaurant fare, but I enjoyed seeing what he eats at home. Egg sandwich with butter, anyone?

He let down his hair with SlashFood and was pretty entertaining. Worth a look.

I’m not sure where this bad review of Medium Raw originated because I found it verbatim and unattributed on various sites, but here it is at Almost Fearless. The reviewer disliked it for some of the reasons I put in kinder, gentler terms in our book club.

I’m still looking for your opinions of the book, by the way. Click the chapter you want to discuss under “Extras” in the sidebar.

In the interest of fairness and balance, here’s a favorable review from The Globe and Mail in Toronto.

The Boston Herald said the book “lacks cohesion,” but there’s still “much to enjoy.”

The San Francisco Chronicle basically liked the book, but thinks it reads “more like a collection of magazine articles and opinion pieces.”

SFGate had a sit-down with Bourdain, and he mentions that he thinks it was the over-abundance of palm products in Liberia recently that made him very sick.

Eater.com published a nice selection of short book review excerpts if you prefer, and concluded that reactions to Medium Raw have been “mixed.”

Tony did a video interview in mid-June about the book on the Fox affiliate in Atlanta. Politics didn’t come up.

Here’s another video clip with Good Day LA on another Fox affilitate.

Huffington Post got a video clip of Bourdain speaking at UCLA on June 16, and commenters debated over his description of some food as “low-end” and whether he said “ethnicky” (he didn’t).

Alan Richman (see Chapter 14) took another swing at Tony in The (Montreal) Gazette, calling him “a two-bit demagogue with a poison mind,” among other things.

NPR in Concord, NH, did a half-hour radio interview with Bourdain on June 16, and he takes listeners’ questions. He calls himself a college dropout (2 years at Vassar) and credits good high school English teachers with his foundation as a writer. If you haven’t read Medium Raw book, here’s an excerpt from “Lower Education,” the chapter on teaching his daughter the evils of fast food.

Bourdain appeared in Salt Lake City on June 19, and The Salt Lake Tribune reports he got a standing ovation from the audience of 1,200 as he walked onto the stage. During the Q&A, someone asked if he wanted more information about The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints. Tony answered, “I’m beyond saving. It’s too late for me.”

Common Dreams reports that Bourdain is making a video to promote “Gumbo for the Gulf,” a houseparty fundraising effort of 150 events (and counting) in 28 states that began the week June 14 to support efforts to deal with the BP oil spill.

A few examples of my teeth/no teeth theory as a measure of how much Tony is enjoying himself were posted Nuño Meat Market and LAist.

PS: Bourdain turns 54 on June 25. Happy Birthday, Tony!

10 Responses to Bourdain is EVERYWHERE in June

  1. christinegilbert says:

    I wrote the review on almostfearless.com — I’m curious where else you have seen it because whoever else has republished it has done so without permission!

  2. catsworking says:

    Hi, Christine! I saw your review first and thought it was your work, but as I continued researching for this article, it popped up somewhere else. Let me go back and see if I can find it and I’ll e-mail you the link.

  3. Pegu says:

    Bourdain also did a radio interview for the CBC program Q. You can listen to the podcast here:

    http://www.cbc.ca/q/episodes/

    Click on the June 16 program.

  4. catsworking says:

    Thanks, Pegu! I will listen the first chance I get.

  5. Cindy says:

    Tickets are now on sale for this year’s food fight

    http://capitalfoodfight.org/

    Rumors are flying around DC that Tony is going to be on “Top Chef” with Buzz Aldrin. I watched the first episode of this season and they showed a quick montage of the new season. If you looked fast, you will see him (Tony not Buzz).

    I caught Tony’s interview on “Tavis Smiley” Monday. He is indeed everywhere.

  6. catsworking says:

    Cindy, I kept finding things online about Tony and Tavis Smiley, but could never get the sites to open up. I’ll have to keep trying.

    If Tony does appear on Top Chef with Buzz, I wonder if Buzz will take him for a little twirl around the kitchen with what he learned on Dancing with the Stars? I can see Tony doing a mean tango, but he’d definitely lead and make Buzz put the rose between his teeth.

  7. catsworking says:

    RE: Capital Food Fight Who’s in?

  8. Adele says:

    Cindy, I’d begun to think I was halucinating — I thought I saw Bourdain in that montage at the end of Top Chef Ep.1, but when I watched the show last night and didn’t see anything about him, I decided that perhaps it was a Bourdain mirage.

    I have a consulting job coming up, and the start date is uncertain; it could be early fall, late fall, or winter — as soon as I can get some confirmation, I’ll be able to figure out if I can make it to DC Food Fight; I hope I can.

  9. MorganLF says:

    I’m buying my tix. This is early to go on sales and last year they sold out.

  10. catsworking says:

    I just bought my ticket. The price has gone up this year to $200, but $150 is tax-deductible as a charitable contribution.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 180 other followers

