A Bourdain Gallery

By Karen

After showing Zamir the frigid Rust Belt, Anthony Bourdain undoubtedly made the most of his weekend at the Cayman Cookout, where the festivities kicked off January 16 on beautiful, balmy Seven Mile Beach.

(Photo - Travel Channel)

(Photo - Travel Channel)

Tony’s event on Sunday afternoon was sold out. But when the guest chefs prepared a 7-course gala dinner for the attendees, I was surprised he wasn’t among them. He’s no shirker. Does he fear his kitchen skills are too rusty, after seeing buddy Eric Ripert tame the grill station at Les Halles?

Cats Working readers uncover Bourdain pics everywhere. The links are scattered throughout the comments, so I’m bringing some to the fore. Don’t want you to miss anything.

Bob provided a great peek into Tony’s youth, including the whole Bourdain family.

I found this interesting account of Bourdain in Seattle in June 2008. You’ve got to admire his ability to speak off the cuff to 1,400 people.

If you’re an author, Tony’s the man to write you a killer book blurb. That’s more than I can say for humorist Dave Barry, who pleaded being too famous and busy to blurb How to Work Like a CAT, even though it complements his own book, Claw Your Way to the Top.

Nickole found Ariane facing the camera for once, with Ottavia and proud papa Bourdain.

This album is huge, beautiful, and mostly irrelevant. I flipped through nearly 500 pics to find the best Bourdain. Here’s Ariane again on the left in a group shot, held by a stranger. What happened to Ottavia?

And a refreshing variation on “Tony posing with female fan” at the Florida Film Festival.

Tony with Ottavia on his left. Her hair looks a lighter and longer than usual.

And suave Tony — at a black-tie event in Charleston, South Carolina.

He’ll be in Santa Barbara, California, on February 27 to discuss Kitchen Confidential, which seems odd, since he’s written many other books since.

Top Chef must be feeling the absence of snark at the judges’ table in Season 5 because they added Toby Young to fill the void left by Bourdain — if he were short, bespectacled, bald, and British. Young seems to strain to be clever. He makes me wish for Tony to breeze through unannounced, lay a big wet one on Padma for shock value, drop a few verbal bombs, and leave Toby in his dust.

15 Responses to A Bourdain Gallery

  1. Bob says:

    Thanks for the Shout Out Karen, Just doing my bit to spread the good word according to Bourdain. :)

  2. catsworking says:

    You’re welcome, Bob. Keeping tabs on Tony is a big job, and I’m grateful for the help! :-)

  3. MorganLF says:

    Cute kid looks like her dad!

  4. Cindy says:

    He couldn’t do that dinner because he was in DC Monday night, participating in a dinner fund raiser ($500 a ticket) for the DC Central Kitchen. In spite of extensive searching, I could not find any more info on this.

  5. Cindy says:

    http://dcist.com/2009/01/chewing_the_fat_anthony_bourdain.php

    Good photos from DC episode of NR episode and an interview from Monday.

  6. catsworking says:

    Good sleuthing, Cindy. Thanks! When I saw that interview yesterday, I thought it was done while he filmed in DC, and totally missed the DC Central Kitchen connection. I think that big dinner in the Caymans was Sunday night, so maybe he was forced to skip it to get back. Too bad he had to cut his tropical weekend short to return to freezing DC, but that means he might have stayed in town for Obama’s inauguration. I wonder…?

  7. Natalie says:

    I was there for the Cayman Cookout & the last sighting I had of Bourdain was on Monday around noon (looked as if he was dressed for a flight out). He was there for the Gala Dinner on Sunday seated in the center of the room surrounded by all the chef’s wives…lucky man and you could tell he enjoyed every second of it!

  8. catsworking says:

    Natalie, now you’ve got me green with envy. I’ve been to beautiful Grand Cayman several times, and I’d have loved nothing better than to be there for the Cookout, budget permitting. You lucky lady!

    Thank you for confirming that Tony did apparently shirk his chefly duty in the kitchen for the Gala Dinner. Wonder what that was about?

    Did you happen to get a good look at Ottavia, assuming she was with him? How’s she doing?

  9. Natalie says:

    Grand Cayman was truly beautiful and the Cookout made it all the more enjoyable!

    I’m not sure why Tony didn’t prepare a dish for the Gala…perhaps it was because he was hosting the Cooks Tour at Pedro St. James the same day? There were also cocktails and hors d’oeuvres at the Governor’s house prior to the Dinner which all the other chefs attended minus Tony…hmmmm.

    Ottavia was with him as well as Ariane. Actually it was a rarity to not see them together (with the exception of the Cooks Tour). They seemed to be very affectionate and really enjoy each others company. I snapped a few photos, but unfortunately I had a new camera and was unfamiliar with settings and such so they didn’t turn out as well as I had hoped. *Sigh*

  10. MorganLF says:

    Natalie…I am jealous!! It must have been fabulous the sun, the sea, the food, Bourdain, Ripert…

    Oooops just daydreamed off…Did Eric Ripert have his wife with him? What does she look like? I’ve seen Tony & Ottavia together also and they were very affectionate. In pics Ariane looks like him is that true in person? Sorry to pepper you with so many questions but we will hang on your every word.

  11. catsworking says:

    Natalie, thanks so much for giving us the scoop as you saw it. Maybe family responsibilities trumped chef duties. So sorry your pictures didn’t turn out so well. But if they’re just too dark and you want to send a few to me, write me via the contact link on my Karen & the Cats page and I’ll return you my personal e-mail address so you can send them. I may be able to lighten them up to post.

  12. Natalie says:

    Morgan…Ah yes Eric Ripert was a treat. I was lucky enough to get tickets for his Stingray City trip (although the weather was too windy to actually go to Stingray City). We ended up anchored near George Town instead. He made an effort to talk to everyone on the catamaran & then prepared both a red snapper & conch ceviche *yum* Such a nice guy! His wife and son were both with him in the Caymans. She was a very attractive woman, long dark hair, dark eyes & you could tell she was a bit of a spitfire…I’m sure she keeps him on his toes.

    I thought Ariane looked more like Tony than Ottavia, but I s’pose you could see a little of both of them in her. He was such a cute dad…the little one usually perched on his arm…awww!

    Karen…sadly the photos are not only dark but a little blurry (okay some A LOT blurry). Some turned out okay though. I’d be happy to send what I have anyway if you’d like?

  13. catsworking says:

    Natalie, I’d be happy to see your photos. If there’s anything I can salvage, I surely will.

    I bought a Canon digital camera not long ago and will say I’m not at all enchanted with digital photography for the very things you mentioned. Give me good old film any day.

  14. I always think he looks uncomfortable in suits & tuxes. I much prefer his casual look. But I still love all the pics!

  15. catsworking says:

    Mom, you’re right. Bourdain does seem most comfy in old jeans and sandals, with his shirttail flapping in the breeze. Maybe that’s why I love to see him scrubbed and dressed up, looking James Bond-ish.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 176 other followers

