Bourdain’s Producers Rethink Blog Censorship

By Karen

After a few early posts (including mine) about Anthony Bourdain’s visit to the Philippines had to be yanked, it seems Tony’s every waking moment there is being documented and illustrated by local bloggers.

Market Manila just wrote a lengthy account that included many photos of Bourdain eating spit-roasted pigs in Cebu. Apparently aware of the previous censorship, he wrote:

“I must say that I was not prevented from blogging about this event, in fact, I was graciously told by the show’s producer that I could write anything I wanted, but armed with that freedom, I understand fully the responsibility involved, and I definitely will not pre-empt the program (which should air in the United States in late January 2009 or so, and several months later here in Asia)…”

Check out those photos of Tony. They say the camera adds 10 pounds, but is it me, or does he look a little chunky in the chin these days? And at certain angles, does that white shirt conceal a paunch sprouting from his stick figure?

Even Claude Tayag, the owner of Bale Dutung, waxed eloquent about Bourdain in a lengthy post for The Philippine Star. It was about the same meal that sparked the killing of my and others’ posts. I had read and reported that Tony was seen smoking there while downing large quantities of San Mig Light beer, a brew apparently so foul it earned a “D+ Avoid” rating with the Beer Advocate.

What this indicates to me is that the sacrifices of Cats Working and several Filipino bloggers in taking down our posts were not in vain. We apparently helped the producers of No Reservations realize the value of positive advance buzz in the blogosphere.

As Bourdain would say, “The People Have Spoken.”

10 Responses to Bourdain’s Producers Rethink Blog Censorship

  1. Tetsuya says:

    Hi, I found your blog through Google and hope you won’t mind me commenting.

    The paunch has been there since shortly after he quit smoking for his daughter, if you watch episodes of No Res and look closely at pictures from around that time. He doesn’t really try to hide it, and my friends have even commented on wanting to rub his new belly like a Buddha’s. :) He also looks heavier in the face and neck like you noticed.

    I can say from experience that this isn’t unusual at all for some ex-smokers—smoking as many packs a day as he did is probably part of what kept him thin as a post for so long (and the other parts might be his past drug use and just plain genetics, since as he says himself he’s never been a health buff). He had been a smoker since his early teens, if I recall correctly.

  2. Kikoman says:

    San Mig Light is not that bad for me though I’m not an expert. Its very popular here in the Philippines now compared to their flagship product San Miguel Pale Pilsen. Red Horse strong beer is also very popular now

  3. catsworking says:

    Tetsuya, OK, so it isn’t my eyes playing tricks. I’ve been thinking he’s looking a little fluffier lately. If rubbing his Buddha belly would bring me good luck, I’d do it!

    And I’ve heard that smokers do tend to gain weight, so I guess he’s got things working against him on several fronts: age, lifestyle, and cleaner living.

    Kikoman, I don’t know one beer from another, so after Bourdain seemed to like San Mig Light so much, I was surprised to read the evaluations on Beer Advocate of those who seem to know beer. “Light floral character…with stale undertone,” “rotten, moldy, corn,” “prickly mouthfeel,” “faint metallic taste,” “hoppy bitterness,” “smell…like stale peanuts,” “unclean musty/soapy aroma.” Based on others’ assessments, I concluded it’s not the best brew. My opinion only, no offense intended.

  4. Nickole says:

    I searched the South Beach Food and Wine Festival today to see if there are any Bourdain events. For the 1st time that I can remember, he’s not booked to do a lecture, signing, event, etc. there. Hmmm…will he be living in Viet Nam already??

  5. catsworking says:

    Nickole, when is that festival? I found somewhere that on November 14, Bourdain’s supposed to participate in some Miami “Food Series,” but I don’t recall exactly what that is.

    He has said he’ll be house-hunting in Vietnam in December, so I think he should be planning his move there in 2009 as soon as he works out all the details.

  6. Nickole says:

    South Beach Food and Wine is Feb. 19 – 22, 2009.

  7. catsworking says:

    Nickole, I think the thing in Miami on Nov. 14 is book-related. Yesterday, I came across a notice that Bourdain is supposed to be in Durham, NC, on February 19. So maybe there’s still hope he’ll be at South Beach. He seems to be heading in the right direction!

  8. cpt/bustamante says:

    if tony moves to vietnam will there be a new season of “no reservations”\

  9. catsworking says:

    Bourdain recently said something about that. Stay tuned. I will be posting it this week.

  10. cpt/bustamante says:

    thank you i will be sure to stay posted.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 180 other followers

